Challenging Ourselves

This week has been extremely stressful at work as some are facing layoffs and we do not know who “those” are at this time.  I have felt my energy has been zapped and not what it could me.  My sleeping patterns have not been regular for a few days.  So I am feeling “stressed” and trying to work through my stress without turning to food for comfort.

Today I had a day of weight assessments with my trainers.  I had pre-tested myself on some machines a couple of weeks ago and felt my upper body strength and lower body strength had really deteriorated since my last regular gym visits four years ago.  I wasn’t looking forward to the trainer’s assessments and have to face the realities of  not only being four years older but my body having been neglected for four years.  It is true, if you do not use it, you will lose it!

When I had pre-tested myself I was only able to chess press about 30 lbs. but today I maxed out at 65 lbs.  I was very proud of myself to say the least!  With the leg press a couple of weeks ago, I felt that 70 lbs. was the entire weight of the world but today I was able to press 195 lbs.  Another victory for me!

With all the stress this week, I was looking forward to channeling all that toward my weight assessments today and I did!  I felt great when I finished them and thought about the wonderful massage that I had scheduled weeks ago for this evening.

I have been very much focused on not turning to food during this stressful period.  I have been successful and even had 2 of my daily point allotment left yesterday when I went to bed.  Each day is self-contained, as is each meal and each snack.  All are opportunities to make wise choices.

I feel often we “give up” or turn to food in times of great stress because we do not know what else to do.  We have gotten into the habit of “eating” our emotions.  After eating our emotions we experience a great deal of guilt.  So why do we go there again and again?  Haven’t we heard time and time again if we want a different outcome we have to do something different from what we have been doing?

Today getting to the gym and focusing all my energy/strength and stress on lifting those weights was the perfect release for me.  I do not control what decisions will be made at work about layoffs but I can and do control what put into my mouth and the amount I move my body.

Remember control the things you can and challenge yourself even when you think you can’t do it, just do it!

Stress 6

Leave a Reply

