TGIF! – (Takes Guts to Ignore Food!)

This is the time of year where everyone starts acting like the next great baker and all kinds of goodies appear in break rooms all over the country.  Healthy eating can go out the door very quickly unless you have a plan.  Benjamin Franklin said it best when he said, “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.”  The fall and winter holiday season have their own special challenges.  Between Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas, Kwanzaa, Holiday Parties, and New Year’s Eve celebrations there is a constant stream of traditionally unhealthy foods for 6-8 weeks depending on the year.   One meal will not wreck a health conscious plan but six to eight weeks of total abandon can leave your clothes much tighter and your body not feeling its best.  Now is the time to plan your strategy for the holiday season.

How can I ignore that cake/pie/cookies in the break room?

You don’t have to ignore it, but be ready to accept the consequences of over indulgence if you don’t ignore it.   Create a strategy before you indulge.  For example, I would, if it is really something I want to get, I will get only one or a smaller serving if it is something that has to be cut.  Take my serving away from that area, savor and enjoy it and remind myself that I had some and I do not need any more.  And for us Weight Watchers, track it!  I might even go for a short walk afterwards just to change the rhythm/environment.

If it is something I know could “trigger” me to eat more or to excess, I would ignore it all together and grab a piece of fruit or veggies to eat instead.  This would be a good time to for for a short walk if you feel very tempted to eat it.

We are having a potluck, I have no idea what people are going to bring, what can I do?

Bring something you know you can eat without worry/guilt and put a healthy serving on your plate.  fill in the empty spots with the best healthy choices you can find such as simple vegetables without heavy sauces.  Tossed salads can fill in a big spot on your plate.  Just remember to go light on the dressing or use balsamic vinegar in place of dressing.  Fine a piece of lean meat or a very small serving of lean meat if it is smothered in gravy or sauces.

Can’t I just have a bite?

If you are able to stop at one bite, of course!  Just remember that even  bite of this and that adds up!  And if you have a bite, be sure to track it!

Tracking 1

Leave a Reply

