Photographs: A Totally Different Perspective

I was recently asked to locate pictures of myself at my heaviest (I will explain later what the request is about) and my first response was “You know when you are overweight, you avoid the camera.”  The person chuckled and said, “I understand, but I know it might take some calls to friends and family but  I bet you can come up with some.”  I agreed and thought oh my who is going to have pictures of me at my highest weight!  I sent out the “call” for any pictures anyone had of me which were when I was much heavier.

I had a light bulb go on over my head.  In my guest room., the closet looks like a tiny storage unit.  Recently I cleaned it out and reorganized the boxes and even being organized, labeled each one of them.  Yay me!  The boxes of pictures were clearly labeled “pictures” and contain the artifacts from my life. I had to take out a whole roll of boxes to get to those pictures boxes which I was trying so hard to forget they existed!  The first box didn’t yield anything.  The second box, nothing. The third box, nothing yet.  But, the fourth box, I felt I hit the super awful picture jackpot!  I thought

I had managed to avoid cameras—- so I thought.  There were cameras I didn’t even try to avoid.  The very graphic evidence from many wonderful Carnival Cruises was now staring me in the face.  It was different now looking at those pictures.  I WANTED to find BAD pictures and really unflattering of myself! I almost squealed in delight upon each new discovery of the awful pictures!  The photographs seem to get worse than the previous one and as they did, the more I giggled!

STOP THE PRESSES!  I was giggling and excited over bad awful unflattering pictures of myself that I had hidden away in storage boxes in a guest room closet!  Who was this person!??  It couldn’t be me giggling at these relics of horror!

What a difference weight loss and a new perspective can make!  When these pictures were taken I was mortified at seeing them, and quietly hid them from view.  Now they have become cherished reminders of how far I have been blessed to come!

To be continued. (I will share the purpose of this search and the found pictures at a later time).

 

Leave a Reply

