Weight Watchers – Beyond the Scale – Part 2 (My First Day)

I was in the advantageous position of being in the last group for the week (my weigh in is on Saturday) that converted to the new Beyond the Scale program with the newly named SmartPoints and FitPoints.  That gave me an interesting perspective and lots of time to vent, explore and ask tons of questions to my Weight Watcher online friends.

I felt I was prepared before going to the introduction meeting, I knew what to expect, and had read about most of the changes and my fears had been transformed into excitement to  begin the new program.  I had realized  that I wasn’t going to need to make major changes but  more like a few “tweaks” to my eating plan to adapt to the new plan.

FACT AND FICTION

  1. FACT:  My daily points did go up! I was at 26 in the Points Plus Program (the lowest you can go) because I was already trying to lose a few post-vacation pounds.  My new daily SmartPoints allows is 30! Four points up from the old allowance. WIN!
  2. FACT:  Meekly point allowance went down.  On Points Plus, everyone had 49 weekly points to use as needed.  Now, I have 28 weeklies on the SmartPoints program.  Everyone now has a personalized weekly allowance based on: your sex, age, height and weight on the SmartPoints Program.  This allowance is a lot less  but I rarely used more than 3-7 extra points in a week so this did not concern me personally but many others are very upset about it!
  3. FACT:  My work week breakfast had been cooked oatmeal with raisins and some chopped almonds and only 7 points on the old program.  My 1 ounce of raisins were two points. BUT in the new program, they are now 5 SmartPoints.  OUCH!  For now, this makes them too “costly” (or pointy as we like to call things) to be a regular part of my breakfast.  My mom offered a perfect solution the now costly raisins.  She suggested that I add frozen fruit (mixed berries, cherries, etc.) to my daily oatmeal for a new flavor and a hint of sweetness but would not add any additional points!  Brilliant! My mom is a genius! My thinking is, now that I lost the 2 points of the raisins I can UP my chopped almonds to 3 points  which adds more crunch more protein! Yay my first SmartPoints crisis solved! Ultimate WIN!
  4. FACT:  Many lean proteins’ point values went down.  That is a HUGE win for this protein/meat loving girl! My 6 ounce chicken breast used to cost me 6 points now is only 4 SmartPoints! YAY! I love my chicken!
  5. FACT: White fish went down in points.  I am a lover of Cod, and Haddock so this is awesome!  My 6 ounce fillets are now ONE point!  Yay!
  6. FACT:  Shrimp point values went down too.  For this shrimp loving woman, this is also big exciting news!
  7. FACT:  I found out MOST of my favorite foods stayed the same points values.
  8. FACT:  I found out some of my treats/indulgences are no longer worth the points. (example – I love the Weight Watchers Giant Cookies and Cream  Chocolate Ice Cream Bar (used to be 4 points and a high point splurge for me) but NOW isn’t worth the 6 SmartPoints! I wonder if WW knows they just killed their own ice cream treat business? (I did see where most Weight Watchers Ice Cream Treats are being revamped down to a “snack” size with only a 2-3 SmartPoints value, good move Weight Watchers!
  9. FICTION:  You can’t eat out on SmartPoints.  One of my favorite  once a week treat is  a Chick-fil-A  Chicken  Biscuit but I order it on a regular bun went DOWN 1 SmartPoints! – WIN!
  10. FICTION:  You can’t eat any fast food on SmartPoints.   My mom and I have a “tradition” of eating at KFC on Saturdays after grocery shopping and before other shopping that day so I was very scared I would have to give up this weekly meal.  Much to my shock the net gain/loss of  points was zero, the total stayed the same although they are distributed differently between the individual items!  SUPER HAPPY! I had emotional attachment to this meal/tradition and I was really nervous that it was going to have to be changed.
  11. FACT: Planning ahead is a good idea.  My mom and I discussed the possibilities of the KFC meal point changes and we had decided to give up the biscuit if it became too pointy prior beginning SmartPoints.  We were prepared to make a change or modification but didn’t need to make it after all! BIG WIN!
  12. FACT:  On the new program you are not encouraged to eat your FitPoints. I get this because now there is no base-line and the points start accumulating with your first step.
  13. CONFUSED:  I took my assessment and my daily FitPoints  target is 1 fit point a day; 7 for the week.  I don’t quite understand that but I earned 9 my first day.  I also read that your FitPoints goal would be adjusted on a weekly basis so it will work out.
  14. FACT:  I cooked my first dinner on the new plan was a grand total of 3 SmartPoints! In the old program it would have been 5 points.  That saved me 2 SmartPoints!  I ate  4.5 ounces of boneless and skinless chicken breast for only 3 SmartPoints! Yay more protein!
  15. FACT:  There is an adjustment period in my head that is going on.  I can see now I might be ap to have points left over at the end of the day so I will have to think of a way to eat my daily points allowance which Weight Watchers urges us to do.
  16. FACT:  There are no Good Health Guidelines and Healthy Checks.  I miss this already.  Weight Watcher feels if you are eating the lower point foods you are instantly getting all these in and do not need to keep track of them.  I would still like to check off my healthy checks and my daily water intake.
  17. FACT:  I have to tweak some of my recipes.  My old smoothie was 6 points and now it has gone up to 9 SmartPoints OUCH! I exchanged my fat-free milk (which went up to 3 SmartPoints per cup)  for Unsweetened Cashew Milk and saved a 2 points!
  18. FACT:  Many ready Made Cereal really jumped in points! The higher their fat and/or sugar content the higher the points went.  My typical Sunday breakfast used to be  2 cups of Special K Chocolatey Delight Cereal for a huge 8 point breakfast (Unsweetened Cashew mike was zero points for a half a cup).  Now on SmartPoints,  I would be looking at a whopping 14 points! NO WAY!     I spent a lot of time reading about Ready to Eat Cereals and their values in the SmartPoints Program and found out that I needed to “Cool” my love affair with those chocolate laced Special K Cereals and opt for less sugared cereals.
  19. FICTION:  All ready-made cereals are high in points.  2 cups of Rice Krispies with a banana cut up in it with 1/2 cup skim milk (out of cashew milk now) was 6 points.  Had I stuck to my “old” breakfast I would have been 16 SmartPoints of my 30 SmartPoints  day!  50% of my daily allowance would have been spent on my indulgent breakfast.  I happened to have Rice Krispies on hand but I can tell from my reading my weekend ready to eat cereal will be back to some basics, the original yellow box Cheerios and Multi-Grain Cheerios.  Funny when I started Weight Watchers almost 3 years ago, I ate a lot of those so back to the beginning in many ways!
  20. LESSON LEARNED:  Though that Chocolate Delight tastes awesome, it offers too much sugar and not enough staying power for that many points.  It is NOT worth it!   I need to make better choices for my cold cereal splurge!
  21. CHALLENGE:  Finding healthier choices to be healthier and improve weight loss.  I will not ban Special K chocolate laced cereals from my pantry but I will be less likely to purchase them in the future.

MY ADVICE:   Study point values before going grocery shopping or going out to eat.  Make a list of new things to add to your plan with fewer points.  PLAN  and stick to your PLAN = SUCCESS! 

I felt successful on my first day on SmartPoints and I still feel very positive about the program and what I am understanding about it.

SmartPoints 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

