One Step Forward, Two Steps Back…

We all have days where is seems like progress is nowhere to be seen either in our jobs or our personal health.  Yesterday, was one of those days where I was very quickly reminded how close at hand old bad habits are.   For over three years now, I have made good consistent food choices with small hiccups here and there.  But yesterday, something triggered old eating habits and I found myself going through the sweet/salty catch-22 once again.  Eat something sweet follow it with something salty, repeat and repeat again and again.

I attended an event yesterday which was both new and nostalgic at the same time.  I saw people who I have not seen and spoken to in years.  It was a kind of college reunion which made life seem like no time had passed at all.  But in reality almost 40 years have passed.  In those days, I didn’t care much about what I ate nor in reality how much.  So it was so very easy after I got home to have a sensible dinner, after all, I have been doing that for over 3 years now.

After dinner, I chose to finish off the desserts I had brought home with me from lunch.  I had been good, didn’t eat everything but chose to have some items later in the day.  I knew since these little desserts were something I did not indulge in everyday that I wanted them to all be consumed on the same day so that nothing was “lingering” until the next day.  So far, so good, right?

I savored those little morsels and enjoyed every bite of them.  Some switch in my head was flipped.  I found myself wanting a little more.  I knew I kept a piece of chocolate in my crispy pan tucked away for an occasion like this.  I would do my normal and break off a piece of this chocolate savor it and be done.  Not so this time.  My “sugar” switch was on full throttle.  I had a bite or two of something savory.  Then back I went to break off another piece.  A little more savory and then back for another piece.  Now, the 8 oz piece of chocolate, was gone.  It was all gone!

I remember how “driven” I used to be to eat things in the past until they were gone.  I hadn’t experienced this in a very long time and was kind of surprised that this had occurred but I choose to see it has a great reminder that being vigilant is important or all the good choices can easily be replaced by poor choices and poor health.   I have tracked it and moved on.

When I woke up this morning, I had a visual flash that none of my clothes would fit after all that chocolate.  They fit but I am reminded of how fast good habits can be replaced by old bad habits!  One bad meal or even one bad day eating will not undo all the good work you have done but it will remind you that it is very easy to stop letting your “know better side” be out ruled by your “it tastes so good side.”

After all, today is another day! (in my best Scarlet O’Hara voice)

Leave a Reply

