Half My Size! Yes Really! I Lost Half My Body Weight!

Through the years I have read many of those “I have lost half my body weight” articles and thought, I WISH I could say that some day as I have always struggled with my weight.  The only trouble with saying that is that you tell the whole world what you weighed and what you weigh now!  Funny, back before I began Weight Watchers I was horrified that someone would find out what I did weigh, now, not perfectly comfortable with saying what I weighed because when I say that it is just simple math to figure out what I currently weigh.  Funny, isn’t it?  But the honest truth is full disclosure doesn’t scare me now but thrills me that I am able to make it!

In September 2012, I had my annual check up and when the nurse was going to weigh me, I turned my head and said I do not what to know!  Talk about denial!  I KNEW I was overweight and needed to do something about it but I did not want to be reminded!  I was reminded every time I looked in the mirror, walked up a few stairs, and when I got dressed or undressed every day I was reminded of what I NEEDED to do, what I SHOULD do but what I wasn’t READY to do.

I was smart, I was employed, I was healthy, I was happy, I was living, clean, I was attractive,  I was active, I was a good person, I was talented,  I was many things so why was my weight the one thing I couldn’t seem to get a clear grip on.  When it came down to it, there were emotions that I didn’t know how to properly channel so it took lots of deep digging to get at the bottom of those improperly channeled feelings.  Often we think we should not have feelings of hurt, anger, etc and we tend to eat our feelings as a way of self-medicating.

In late December 2012, I got a reality check, my health was failing, I had no energy and I could barely make it up one flight of stairs.  When a cardiologist told me that I needed to come in for a stress test to see what was going on, THAT was a major reality check as in my heart of hearts, I knew he was right, I was on the verge of a cardiac episode.

On January 2nd, 2013, I joined Weight Watchers Online as I could not afford the meetings,  but I knew I had to do something and I had to be the reason for my change and had to be accountable to myself. I didn’t own a working weight scale so I “guessed” at my weight.  I did start tracking all my food and tried to stay in my daily points allotment.  So I do not know at exactly what weight I was  on 01/02/13 but I began.  My new scale arrived on January 23rd and I found out how terribly terribly wrong I was guessing my weight. I had guessed 35 pounds less than I actually weighed.  For once the number on the scale didn’t make me feel discouraged and depressed, it made me feel determined and empowered.  I now knew what I didn’t know!

A year later in January of 2014, I had lost a little over 90 pounds without feeling hungry or weak.  Success was starting to come!

In July 2014, I reached my “goal” weight!  having lost a little over 115 lbs.  BIG SUCCESS! Next step was maintaining that loss.

In late February of 2015, I realized that I was close to having lost half my body weight, so I pressed back into weight loss mode. In March I had lost 2.6 pounds, getting even closer to my half my weight goal, just 1.8 pounds to go!

On May 15, 2015, the day before I left to go to New York City to appear on the Today Show as a new member of the Joy Fit Club, I reached the half my body weight number! I cannot tell you how thrilled I was to know I had lost over 136 pounds!

It has been a year since I was on the Today Show and my weight is still under control!  Soon I will celebrate two years at or below my goal weight! BRAVO to me!

Success 83Success 77Success 73Success 44

 

Leave a Reply

