Being Thankful and Prayerful

I woke up at my normal time this morning and did my normal 2.5 miles.  Many would think why would you do that today?  Afterall, it is Thanksgiving today! In no particular order but reflective of my mind as I was out this morning.  First, I am very thankful that I am alive today and physically able to walk.  Looking back over this last year, I have faced a health issue that if I would not have gone to the doctor could have ended with my physical existence ended. Second, I am thankful that relatives arrived safely to celebrate Thanksgiving with my mom and I this year.  Third, I am thankful for family, friends and my virtual acquaintances.  Fourth, I am thankful for having a good place to live, work and enjoy life.  Nothing is ever perfect but you can enjoy your life experiences perfectly.  Fifth, I am thankful that life goes on no matter what disappointments happen and I can offer prayers for those who have recently lost, mothers, brothers, children or other loved ones at this time of the year.  Sixth, I am thankful for our nation and the diversity that exists.  Before 6 am this morning, I could hear the chanting echoing from a mosque close by and this reminded me that not everyone believes the same things, does the same things and lives the same way.  All of the differences are what this country has been built on.  America has been proud of being a melting pot of cultures, traditions and people.  Lately, we seem to not want to be in a melting pot where things are blended together in harmony but rather separate, unequal and selfish.   Seventh, reading what I just wrote, we need to pray for our nation, our leaders and each other as we move forward into a new year.  This year, I feel that many things that have distracted us from focusing on the positive, blinding us to what we have in common as human beings and preventing us from living in a spirit of peace.  Eight, let us all pray for celebrating the positive, embracing our commonalities and living in peace and harmony with all.   Our differences should be our best uniting force not the source of contention and division.  After all, we live in the UNITED States of America and not what has seemed like the UN-TIED States of America.  A new year is coming, let us all unite and show the world what is so wonderful about this nation!  Ninth, do not forget to pray for those with whom we disagree.  Do not pray for them to agree with you but rather that we can learn to disagree in a bond of peace and respect.   Tenth, and lastly, let us not only pray for those who are less fortunate, but let us DO something to help them every day of the year, not just a few times a year at the holidays.  Be a lifter and a builder.  This last year we have had enough of negative and destruction.  Let us all come together to solve the problems, lift each other up and have a very happy Thanksgiving!  After all, it is not really the food, but the people we should be focusing on.

Happy Thanksgiving and every day should be a Friendsgiving!

thanksgiving-22

 

Leave a Reply

