Week 9 – Slow and Steady

This was a good week, but there was a little stress. I did not go way off the charts with eating and portions but hard to stay within my daily point allowance for a few days.

The stress I encountered this week was focused on a new assignment for the graduate class I am taking this summer called on me to write at a higher level. The associated readings were much longer than the previous week and much more technical in nature. After completing my reading assignments, and making notes, my head felt so full of new terms, and ideas that it seemed to want to explode and I could not find the focus to write. The next day I went back and re-read the readings and corrected my notes. Things started making more sense. I had hoped to begin writing the next day but other obligations got in the way and I felt very tired. I took that as my mental R&R day until that evening. I then found I wanted to read more to get a better grasp on the topics and found more journal articles to read. Clarity and focus began to happen and I started drafting a couple of paragraphs with paper and pencil. Things began to flow from there.

When I weighed in yesterday I was hopeful for a loss but was surprised it was point four. In the past I am used to hearing, 1 or 2 point something. This round of weight loss has been much slower even with me being more consistent with daily activity. I have to step back and think that I am ten years older than when I previousl lost weight. I believe this is a factor in the slowness of the rate of weight loss. I know my mother experienced consistent but point something weight loss when she initially lost her weight too. My new total for nine weeks is 12.2 pounds. In nine weeks, I have had 8 losses that is fabulous! Nine weeks in I had higher expectations for the weight loss total, but I am feeling better and I know my flexibility and resting heart rate all have improved. All great things!

The goal for this week is to be more consistent with eating, staying within my daily point allowance and daily activity. Onward and downward!

I have to remember, my body is a tortise and my mind is wanting to be the hare! Also, note to self, this isn’t a race but a journey!

Leave a comment